Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

kanyeglow.jpg

The day after the Grammy’s I kept watching Kanye’s performance of Stronger featuring Daft Punk. I thought his outfit was sick!! I loved the glasses. In fact, I told everyone at work that if I could find them I’d wear them out at a club. Well, it took me about a month, but I found the glasses. They are called “The Kanye West Shutter Shades” and they are available in bright colors in addition to a glow-in-the-dark pair, somewhat like what he wore during his performance. (However, I do think Kanye’s were lit with a power source.)  You can purchase the multicolored shutter shades here and the glow-in-the-dark ones here.Now, I’m not usually one to latch on to fads that cost an ignorant amount of money and are only in for a minute. (Fads I did latch on to: Von Dutch trucker hats, Ed Hardy tees, and Uggs.)  While these glasses might be part of that nonsense,  I still think I just might get a pair because they look sooooo crazy!

As for the jacket, that took more time to find. I really like the use of electronic LEDs with fashion. And, since Kanye performed with Daft Punk who are known for their robotic outfits, the jacket fit in perfectly. The jacket along with the LED panels were created by Moritz Waldemeyer. Apparently the light panel mimiced the synthesizers used during the performance. Shit! That’s hot!  Check out his blog, Mortiz Waldemeyern has some other interesting things married with light such as this cool dress.

If you didn’t see the performance, check the youtube video before it’s taken down again.

Leave a Reply

